The Second-Class municipality of Barotac Nuevo is at the north-eastern portion of the province. It is 30 kilometers away or an hour drive from Iloilo City. It is bordered by Pototan in the west; Dingle in the northwest; Anilao in the northeast, and; Dumangas in the south. It has a total land area of 9, 449 hectares that is politically subdivided into 29 barangays.
Barotac Nuevo is populated by 54, 146 (2015 Census on Population) Barotacnons. Market day is every Wednesdays and Saturdays. It annually celebrates its Religious Fiesta every 13th of June in honour of St. Anthony de Padua.
One can visit Barotac Nuevo via jeepney, van or bus at the new Ceres Terminal in Barangay Camalig, Jaro, Iloilo City or at the Iloilo Terminal Market in Barangay Rizal Pala-Pala I, Iloilo City.
Barotac is from the Spanish word baro, which means mud, as well as the last syllables of tac and lutac. With Nuevo, translated as new, added to the name.
Local folklore states Barotac Barotac Nuevo was famous for its well-bred horses, one of which was a pure white stallion named Tamasak owned by a prominent citizen named Don Simon. The Governor-General kf the country at that time, Manuel Gonzalers de Aguilar, wanted to buy Tamasak from Don Simon whio eventually exchanged the animal not for money but for a title, and the separation of Barotac Nuevo from the town of Dumangas, of which it was but a smaller part thereof.
The barrio once known as Malutac is now where the town of Barotac Nuevo stands. Barotac Nuevo’s main industry and capital is in agriculture and fishponds for breeding tilapia and milkfish. The town church was built during the 16th century by Spanish missionaries, The town’s name has the Spanish word Nuevo added to it meaning new, to distinguish it from another town called Barotac Viejo (Old Barotac) in the north.
ST. ANTHONY DE PADUA PARISH CHURCH is of Neo-Classical architectural design. It was said that the original church of Romanesque architectural style and was built sometime in 1710 and finished in 1750. However in 1758, an earthquake destroyed the church. A second church of coral stone and bricks was reconstruction under the supervision of Friar Ramon Piaguda y Araujo. A convent was also constructed and both structures were completed sometime in 1802. It was blessed in December 24, 1893.
The present church was constructed under the supervision of Father Julian Yturiaga in 1876 but was later on continued by Father Eustaquio Torres until 1882. It was finished in 1888 under the supervision of Father Calixto Gonzales. It is made of stone blocks. The church has two unfinished twin rectangular bell-tower. However, it was burned In December 5, 1912. During World War II the church was used as a garrison by the Japanese Imperial Forces.
TAMASAK is celebrated every 3rd week of February. The name was derived from the legendary horse hero named Tamasak of the Barotacnons. A brainchild of former SB Member on Tourism, Mr. Nonel Gemora, it is a showcase of the abilities and diversity of their sports-loving community. Celebrated at the FIFA Football Grounds in Barangay Tabucan, the festivity is a diverse, action packed 2-day filled with sports, music, food and fun.
It features competitions for individuals and teams including Kabayo Race, Borado, Mayor Hernan Biron Sr. Football Cup. Variety shows and live band in the evening are added special activities. Tamasak Festival also opens up the opportunity for local people to get involved and have a go at sports they otherwise may not have the opportunity to try.
PAGHILI-USA celebrated every 3rd week of December is a significant Christmas celebration for Barotacnons as schools from all levels, PTA, the private sector and its 29 barangays showcase their talents in the different fields of competition.