MyGuide.ph

Your guide to food, places, experiences

Category: Iloilo

Barotac Viejo

Barotac Viejo is currently experiencing fantastic growth and interest as a tourist destination in the province of Iloilo. The town hopes to offer everything visitors could want in privacy, beauty…

Continue Reading

Barotac Viejo is currently experiencing fantastic growth and interest as a tourist destination in the province of Iloilo. The town hopes to offer everything visitors could want in privacy, beauty and breathtaking views. If you are looking for moments of solitude in the fast bustling city life, what you need is a trip to the town which will bring you peace and closeness to nature. Come discover Barotac Viejo’s best kept secrets.

The Third-Class municipality of Barotac Viejo is situated in the northestern portion of the province. It is 52 kilometers away or an hour and forty-five minutes drive from Iloilo City. The town is bounded in the northwest by the Municipality of San Rafael; in the south by the Municipality of Banate and the Visayan Sea; in the east by the Municipality of Lemery and the Province of Capiz, and; in the west by the Municipality of Passi and San Enrique. It has a land area of 14, 230 hectares that is politically subdivided into 26 barangays.

Barotac Viejo is populated by 45, 808 (2015 Census on Population) Barotacnons. Market day is every Thursday. Iyt annually celebrates its Religious Festival every 29th of June in honour of St. Peter the Apostle.

To get to the town, one can take a bus or van at the new Ceres Terminal in Barangay Camalig, Jaro, Iloilo City.

HISTORY

Barotac Viejo was founded in 1754. The town started as a small settlement near San Juan Bay, surrounding the estuaries of Paywan and Barotac Viejo River. The first settlers were a clan of families from Cebu who escaped from Marauding Muslims or Moros. The settlement grew and was elevated to a barangay in 1765

In 1771, bonds of Moros swept through the Visayas, striking mortal fear among people living in coastal pueblos. The cabeza de barangay elders decided later to move the community from the seacoast to a safer haven inland. Transfering inland, out of danger from the Moro marauders, a small clearing by the bank of the river was chosen where a new community was established. This was called bagong banwa or new town.

The frequency of Moro attacks in the Visayas prompted the Spanish Governor Simon de Anda to put up a fleet of light gunboats for the defense of the coastal towns. After having to transfer sites several times, the latest site was established. Known as Bagong Banwa it was renamed “Baro-lutak” or “Barrotak.” The name was a combination of two words, one in Spanish and the other in Hiligaynon and both were synonymous, meaning “mud.”

When anther town was named Barotac some years later, the preceding town, which was the original, became known as Barotac Viejo, and the new town became Barotac Nuevo.

ATTRACTIONS

ULYSSES VALDEZ FARM is a tourist farm resort privately owned by Dr. Ulysses L. Valdez situated in the scenic Barangay of Rizal, 6 kilometers away from the poblacion of Barotac Viejo, Iloilo. It prides itself on being a family-friendly resort with many activities available for both parents and children. Spread over 14 hectares of land surrounded by varieties of fruit-bearing trees, coffee plantation, fish pens, flower gardens, plant nurseries and poultry and cattle areas, the resort presents a peaceful and tranquil atmosphere that is ideal for mediating, reading and writing. Visitors can also spend some time fishing or taking nature walks through the property.

BALBOA FARM situated at Barangay Vista Alegre, 7 kilometers from the poblacion offers activities and adventures to fulfill your every desire. Find yourself on a relaxing nature hike. Glide down mountain byways through their custom zipline measuring 37 feet in height with a length of 130 meters. Be as active as your heart desires by enjoying their firing range, horseback riding and fishing. Enjoy playing football and volleyball in their well-trimmed fields. It has areas for fruit bearing trees and coffee. It has a pavilion that can accommodate 50 persons for small group activities.

NAGPANA AETA COMMUNITY in Barangay Lipata, 12 kilometers from the poblacion of Barotac Viejo lies hidden from view to those visiting the area.
Everything about the Aeta community reflects sensitivity to the environment and respect for the area’s traditional Aboriginal owners. The sitio covers 938 hectares of verdant forest land where 200 hectares is identified as a “reserved area” for its watershed.

Framed by stunning mountain views, it is home to Nagpana Falls where guests can enjoy a host of activities revolving around it, while still having time to explore the spectacular scenery surrounding the community.

FESTIVAL

TALTAL, celebrated every Good Friday, is considered as one of Iloilo’s longest running Lenten traditions. The community take this event very seriously that it has been religiously observed for the last 39 years as the local government helps in providing logistical and technical support. It is a well-celebrated Lenten event although not as grand as the one in Guimaras is fast gaining in importance.

A huge crowd annually show up for this dramatized tribute performed in Hiligaynon by volunteer actors in the community. No professional actors are hired and the cast is drawn from all walks of life from within the municipality. Almost a hundred people participate in the production.

BAROTO SA LUTAC RACE is celebrated every last week of June. It is a boat racing festivity participated in by barangays competing in pairs. The boat race is of two categories, the de layag where the raceboat is propelled by saild and windpower. The second, the de bugsay is where contestants use paddles to head towards the finish line. The event is observed annually to honor the town’s history and industry.

PATUBAS is celebrated every 3rd week of December and was taken from the Hiligaynon word meaning “harvest.” It is a food festival that celebrates the bounty of the town and its blessings. It showcases an exciting range of culinary delights the town is known for.

No Comments on Barotac Viejo

Banate

Banate is in a unique position being a great jumping-off point to explore the 5th District of the province. The town can surprise those willing to spend a few days…

Continue Reading

Banate is in a unique position being a great jumping-off point to explore the 5th District of the province. The town can surprise those willing to spend a few days exploring it. It may not be as appealing as its adjacent municipalities, but if you are looking for an all-day adventure, the coastal and mountain areas of Banate provides a glorious backdrop attractive all year-round. The town is a great place for outdoor experiences, from snorkeling to challenging wilderness hikes.

The Fourth-Class municipality of Banate is situated in the northern portion of the province. It is 50 kilometers away or an hour and thirty minute ride from Ilooilo City. It shares border with Barotac Viejo and San Enrique in the northwest; Banate Bay in the southeast; and Dingle and Anilao in the west. The town has a total land area measuring 11,886 hectares that is politically subdivided into 18 barangays.

Banate is populated by 32, 532 (2015 Census on Population) Banatenhons. Market day is every Wednesday. It annually celebrates its Religious Fiuesta every 24th of June in honour of ST, John the Baptist.

To get to Banate, one can take a bus or van at the new Ceres Terminal in Barangay Camalig, Jaro, Iloilo City.

HISTORY

The settlement of Banate is of ancient origin. It was among the organized Pre-Hispanic territories of the Confideration of Madja-as in Panay. It was known to the Spanish missionaries during the earliest dates of the colonization as Bobog. The Spanish Augustinian historian Fray Gaspar de San Agustin mentions it in an account about Dumangas and other coastal towns of the island, where in ancient times, there was a principality and trade ceneter that had the most illustrious nobilities in the whole island of Panay.

Bobog (Banate), Araut (Dumangas), Anilao and Hapitan were among the ancient coastal civilizations in Panay. Another Agustinian historian Fray Juan Fernandez, in his Monografias de los pueblos de la isla de Panay, affirms that Banate was known in the ancient times as Bobog or Bog-og. The more modern name banate might have been derived from a species of tree that grew abundantly in the place.

ATTRACTIONS

ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH CHURCH was built in 1870 under the supervision of Father Eustaquio Torres. The convent was established by Father Manuel Santos in 1883. Made of stone and wood, the façade is very simple with no decoration at all.

SAN SALVADOR BEACH is a motorized boatride away from the town center where backpackers frequent this destination because of its beautiful sunset. There are adjoining beaches in the area, the Solongan and Punta Magkil which are separated by rock formations. It was also a part of the history of the province as it served as a citadel during the Spanish times.

CANIAPASAN FALLS located in the wilderness area of Barangay Managopaya, 13 kilometers from the town proper. Fairly located in a remote barangay, this relatively small but scenic cascading waterfall has series of smaller water falls on the rugged, upturned rocks. Located in a sheltered, beautiful spot, the water gushes much over a wide ledge and drops about 10 feet. The walk to the falls is moderate. The trailhead is not so difficult to reach but physical stamina may be required.

HIBOTKAN ROCK SANCTUARY is a good snorkelling and diving spot, a popular place for tourism. Just two kilometres away by motorized boat from Sulagan, it is found in between the municipal waters of town and Guimaras Strait, the sanctuary covers 25 hectares but only 1 hectare is exposed to the sun during low tide. As a precious resource for this town, the site has 16 families of corals with 34 species being observed. The sanctuary also provides shelter for a wide variety of marine life.

FESTIVAL

KASAG celebrates the contribution made by the blue crab industry by those persons involved in the local fishing industry. It became the starting point for the annual festival that also showcases its unique and pulsating choreographed steps. The dance maps out the crab’s journey through movement where it traces its connection from the sea to land. The synchronized movement symbolizes the crab, often accompanied with arched legs, and movement of arms and hands like scissors. Dancers also present the color change on crabs from blue to orange through their suggestive costumes. Banate welcomes its visitors with a weekend of fun and pure pleasure. The celebration is a tasty and entertaining tradition, with music, great food, arts and crafts, and featuring Kasag Cooking Contest. This family fun and feasting event draws visitors from all across the province and region.

ANG PAGTALTAL involves a cast of almost nearing a hundred of performers playing key roles in the Biblical story. No professional actors are hired for the play, which is performed only by those who were born in the towns mentioned. The play’s cast is drawn from all walks of life from within the municipality. The play is performed in Hiligaynon.

No Comments on Banate

Anilao

ANILAO is a lovely little town that for some reason does not often get a mention in the papers or site or any other for that matter. In fact, there…

Continue Reading

ANILAO is a lovely little town that for some reason does not often get a mention in the papers or site or any other for that matter. In fact, there is so much to see and do here. It is a very cultural little community with beautiful natural sites in and around the town itself. It is a great little town very much worth a visit, any time of the year.

The Fourth-Class municipality of Anilao is located in the northeastern portion of the province. It is 40 kilometers away from Iloilo City. It is bounded in the north by the town of San Enrique; the highest mountain of the town in the west; in the south by Barotac Nuevo; and the Guimaras Strait in the east. It has a total land area of 7, 538 hectares and is politically subdivided into 21 barangays.

Anilao is populated by 28, 684 (2015 Census on Population) Anilaonons. Market day is every Friday. It annually celebrates its Religious Fiesta every 22nd of May in honour of Sta. Rita de Casia.

To get to Anilao, one can take a van or bus at the new Ceres Terminal in Barangay Camalig, Jaro, Iloilo City.

HISTORY

Like other towns along the coast of the island of Panay. Anilao was founded by fishermen during the Pre-Colonial times. Its name was reportedly derived from the anilao tree growing abundantly along the bank of Anilao River.

It was formerly an arrabal of the Banate and became an independent town in 1939 by virtue of Executive Order No. 220 signed by President Manuel L. Quezon under the sponsorship of Governor Tomas Confessor and Assemblyman Victorino Salcedo.

ATTRACTIONS

MT. HAMUGNAW situated in Barangay Manganese is dubbed as the “Cold Mountain of Anilao,” It is this town’s highest mountain peak. To get to the barangay is more than 5 kilometers from the Poblacion. Passing by the area, one will see remnants of an old sugar mill center where a century-old chimney and sugarcane grinder sits quietly in one of areas to the peak. It is ideal for adventure tourism that offers good trekking and mountain climbing activities.

AGTAMBO FALLS in Barangay Balunos is a popular tourist destination of the locals especially during the summer.

GUINAMOS / SHRIMP PASTE PROCESSING in Barangay Poblacion is this town’s One-Town-One-Product (OTOP). Anilao is the leading producer of shrimp paste in Iloilo. Guinmos is a common ingredient used in many Ilonggo cuisines. It is made from fermented ground shrimp mixed with salt. Some versions are in its wet form and other versions are sun dried and either cut into fist-sized rectangular blocks or sold in bulk. It is often an ingredient in dip for fish or vegetables and even fruits. It is commonly eaten as a topping on green mangoes or used as a major cooking ingredient. It varies in appearance, flavor, and spiciness depending on the type.

FESTIVAL

BANAAG celebrated in the last week of October till the first week of November is a celebration of life and spirit of its people. The festivity seen through the mesmeric and enchanted performances revisits the significance of fire that once saved their lives as they fought for freedom against the Spanish authorities. It celebrates life and spirit through their pathways of music and movement. Dancers work with fire or light, taming and shaping its flames that flicker on poles carried by performers or dancers. They even spin flaming torches and hoops of fire to the beat of drums and percussion instruments as they raise their voices to chant, dancing and bringing their hearts in sharing this fantastically fun cultural presentation of fire and festival with the community.

The community come together to explore the beauty and mystery of life: its history through this light-hearted image ritual of upbeat performances in ecstatic bliss of modernized theatrical interpretations of its history.

No Comments on Anilao

San Enrique

San Enrique nestles in the rolling hills of the northern central mountain ranges and behind the long stalks of sugar cane, expanses of bamboo, terraced rice paddies and giant, century-old…

Continue Reading

San Enrique nestles in the rolling hills of the northern central mountain ranges and behind the long stalks of sugar cane, expanses of bamboo, terraced rice paddies and giant, century-old trees. Its scenic beauty is land-locked with the presence of Mounts Cañapasan, Bayoso, Gepiz, Cararapan, Cabas-an and Puti-an — a potential ecotourism site known with caves located at Barangay Rumagayray and runs contiguously to Bulabog-Putian National Park at the boundary of Dingle and San Enrique. The town also offers a great combination of cultural expedition and trekking that allows guests to know these remote hospitable villages.

The Third-Class municipality of San Enrique is situated in the north-central portion of the province and is 54 kilometers from Iloilo City via the Passi City route. It is bounded in the north by Passi City; in the south by Dingle; the east by Banate and Barotac Viejo and; west by Duenas. It has a total land area of 8, 772 hectares and is politically subdivided into 28 barangys.

San Enrique is populated by 33, 911 (2015 Census on Population) San Enriquenhons. Market day is every Wednesday. It annually celebrates its Religious Fiesta every 24th of May in honour of St. Mary.

To get to the town, busses via Passi City are available daily at the new Ceres Terminal in Barangay Camalig, Jaro, Iloilo City.

HISTORY

The town was then known as Barrio “Bontoc that was organized as a pueblo through the persistence of the rich influential residents of the community. It stood as as a pueblo with its own streets and church. It was once a folk tradition to have a patron saint in every pueblo where the act of choosing San Enrique to be the town’s patron saint was intentionally done; however, it was found out that the act of making San Enrique as the town’s patron saint could not be granted due to financial problems. The town ha dno funds as hyet to buy the image of the saint witih its own expense.

When ex-Teniente Simon Padios offered the image of Sanctum Auxillum Christianorum would replace San Enrique as the patron saint of Bontok, he admonished the people by saying that the spirit of San Enrique would be displeased. The priest suggested that in order to appease the spirit of the saint, they should name the pueblo Bontok as pueblo San Enrique. By virtue of a Real Orden (Royal Decree) from King Alfonso XII in 1879, the Pueblo de San Enrique was established. The municipality of San Enrique was first established in 1881.

ATTRACTIONS

BINUL-UGAN FALLS in Barangay San Antonio is a bumpy off-road drive to an old cane road from the poblacion. It is a 45-minuter moderate to hard trek. Halfway to the falls lead visitors to series of swimming holes that graces the trails where guests can frolic to their hearts’ content. These waters from the falls continue to shape a dramatic landscape of valleys, streams and cliffs. These holes add to the uniqueness of the exhilarating journey.

FESTIVAL

KALAMAY celebrated every 2nd week of July, highlights the town’s sugar cane farming and the production of raw sugar as well as the impact of the sugar industry to the town for almost 40 years. Series of special events daily were prepared to attract people of all ages to the town’s fairgrounds. Moreover, appealing to tourists as well as local residents, the festival will generate significant tourism-related income.

No Comments on San Enrique

Passi City

Passi City prides itself as the “Sweet City at the Heart of Panay” because of its vast plantations of sugarcane and pineapple. Not known to many, the title rests on…

Continue Reading

Passi City prides itself as the “Sweet City at the Heart of Panay” because of its vast plantations of sugarcane and pineapple. Not known to many, the title rests on the foundation of a rich cultural heritage. It has its share of attractions and activities that are popular to local tourists.

The component city of Passi is situated at the central portion of the province using the Iloilo-Capiz National Highway. It is 50 kilometers away from Iloilo City. It shares boundaries with San Enrique in the north; in the south is Dumarao, Capiz; Calinog in the east; and in the west is Lemery. It has a total land area measuring 25,068 hectares that is politically subdivided into 51 barangays.

Passi City is populated by 80, 544 (2015 Census on Population) Passinhons. Market day is every Mondays and Saturdays. It annually celebrates its Religious Fiesta every 10th of February in honour of San Guillermo.

To get to the city of Passi, busses are available daily at the new Ceres Terminal in Barangay Camalig, Jaro, Iloilo City.

HISTORY

Three migrant Malayan Datus who were brothers were considered to be founders of an ancient settlement prior to the arrival of the Spanish authorities. The brothers Dig-on, Tokiab and Umawang established a settlement where the present Passi church now stands.

According to folk legend, the anme Passi was used to identify the place when Spanish foraging party came about an old woman winnowing rice. Asked by the Spaniards what the name of the place was, the elderly woman, not understanding the language, thought the foreigners were asking what she had in her hands at that moment. She showed them kernels of unhusked rice and replied pasi which was what they were in the local language. The Spanish recorded the name and referred to the place as sitio de Pasi.

Passi is considered to be one of the oldest panish settlements in Iloilo, it was converted as a pueblo in 1766 under the leadership of Don Martin Saligumba.

Passi became progressive, its strategic location made it as the center of trade and commerce bringing more investment opportunities. Its high income and population growth and a sizeable area made it as the first component city in the island of Panay, made possible through the signing of R.A. 8469 on the 30th day of January, 1998 by former President Fidel V. Ramos.

ATTRACTIONS

SAN GUILLERMO PARISH CHURCH is of Baroque architectural style. The magnificent structure of the first church and convent were built in 1614 under the supervision of Father Alonso Baraona. They were partially damaged by an earthquake in 1612 and 1787. It was reconstructed between 1821 and 1837. More reconstruction was supervised by Father Pedro Ceberio in 1856 and was finished in 1876. However, a powerful typhoon blew its roof in 1932. Massive buttresses support its front and back walls. An added attraction of the present church is its Garden of the Saints or “Jardin delos Santos.”

CAVE EXPLORATION is one the most popular activities in the area. It boasts of 16 caves namely: Cueva ni Musyo Cave in Barangay Bayan; Cuadrado Cave in Barangay Agtambo; Suhoton Cave in Barangay Agtambo, Tinay Cave in Barangay Imbang Grande; Bitas Cave in Barangay Imbang Grande; Erimnat Maya Cave in Barangay Agtambo; Irimnan It Maya Spring Cave in Barangay Magdungao; Santos Cave in Barangay Magdungao; Baboy-baboy and Amorotik Cave in Barangay Magdungao; Tubigon Cave in Barangay Magdungao; Ninfa Cave in Barangay Aglalana; Kweba ni Wening in Barangay Aglalana; Ibajay Cave in Barangay Bacuranan; Bita-ogan Cave in Barangay Bita-ogan; and Cabugon Cave in Barangay Imbang Grande. They offer both self-exploring and guided opportunities.

MIDWAY in Barangay Bacuranan is a one stop organic and environmental shop with a public organic farm that combines education, recreation and nature appreciation. Visitors can explore the farm on their own or with a guided tour upon request. It has a greenhouse with plant nurseries of popular local fruit-bearing trees such as atis, chico, duhat or lumboy, durian, guava, papaya, jackfruit, lansones, mangosteen, marang, santol, sambag, pomelo, rambutan, dalandan, bananas and mangoes. They also grow lettuce, basil, tomatoes, cucumber, rosemary and thyme. The area also boasts of its fresh market and restaurant where it serves breakfast meals, lunch and snacks only. It also has a convenient store and pasalubong center. Everyone will surely enjoy its garden cottages built closely around its garden of fruits and vegetables, fishpond, chicken house and its mini-aviary. Midway has spacious parking areas, a very clean restroom and is wi-fi ready. Midway opens daily from 7 a.m. till 5:30 p.m. only.

GIANT BALETE TREE stands along the sugarcane plantations in Barangay Imbang Grande. It is said to be the biggest of its kind in Passi, because of its gigantic structure it would take around 20-25 men to encircle its huge trunk. Though people believe that it is a dwelling place of a supernatural being, it has become an attraction for many who are drawn to its massive root system. It had become a popular spot to take souvenir photos and had served as a wonderful shade for everyone passing by the barangay.

PASSI PRESIDENCIA also known as the old Municipal Hall was completed in 1930 under Former Mayor Jose Paloma. This 2-storey white building with wooden floors houses the Passi City Gallery where it showcases old photos, coins and info about historic Passi. The gallery is joined by the Special Project Office of the City Mayor and the Population Commission. The ground-floor is occupied by the Post Office, Commission on Elections, Parole, City Registrar and Department of Agrarian Reform.

OLD JALAUR RAILWAY BRIDGE also known as the Watanabe Terror Bridge, it is one of the fewest railroad bridges left in the whole Panay.

MUSCOVADO CHIMNEY RUINS in Barangays San Antonio, Imbang Grande, Quinagaringan Pequeno and Agtambo were operating in full force during the city’s agricultural heyday. These ruins are a familiar sight to all driving along sugarcane plantations in the area. The muscovado chimney of Passi Sugar Central is the largest and tallest in the whole Panay island.

FESTIVAL

PINTADOS DE PASI is celebrated every 2nd week of March. The presentation foretells Passi’s pre-Spanish history from battles, epics and folk religion. Spaniards came to central Panay and found in the area heavily tattooed men and women, whom they called Pintados. The name “Pintados” is derived from what the native warriors, whose bodies were adorned with tattoos. They had a culture of their own, commemorating victories by holding festivals and honoring their gods after a bountiful harvest.
The festivity displays the rich cultural heritage of the city, incorporating tribal music and dances. The streets in the city are filled with body-painted dancers in patterns looking a lot like tattooed warriors of old. Guests get a glimpse of the history of the people that once lived on the islands of Panay so long ago. The festival serves as the last bastion of an unbroken tradition of tattooing in Panay. The festival keeps the focus on creativity — without leaving behind the character at the root of tattoo traditions.

No Comments on Passi City

Duenas

DUENAS is a unique destination. Culturally enriched and colourful, it offers visitors a unique experience. The beauty of this town is not natural. Many are isolated in its remote barangays….

Continue Reading

DUENAS is a unique destination. Culturally enriched and colourful, it offers visitors a unique experience. The beauty of this town is not natural. Many are isolated in its remote barangays. Many who fancy a little outdoor adventure and getting away to the remote locations and enjoying the activities that come with it is much more satisfying. The town is a perfect day trip outing.

The Fourth-Class municipality of Duenas is situated in the eastern portion of the province and is 46.1 kilometers away from Iloilo City. The town is bordered in the north by Passi City; east by Lambunao; south by Pototan, northeast by Calinog; southeast by Dingle and southwest by Badiangan. It has a total land area of 9, 052 hectares and is politically subdivided into 47 barangays.

Duenas is populated by 34, 242 (2015 Census on Population) Duenasanons. Market day is every Sunday. It annually celebrates its Religious Fiesta every 30th of September in honour of St. Jerome.

To get to the town, air-conditioned bus is available daily at the new Ceres Terminal in Barangay Camalig, Jaro, Iloilo City.

HISTORY

Pre-Hispanic relic establishes the fact that the early beginings of the town of Duenas was already exposed to international trade as proven by Chinese porcelain from Sung (960 – 1279) and Ming (1368 – 1644) Imperial Dynasties.

Duenas has its foundation and Christianization in 1590 with the name of Sumandig. In 1599, it was moved to Sibucao and in 1603 Sumandig was annexed to Dumangas and two years later in 1605 it enjoyed her independence.

In 1608, Sumandig was absorbed by Laglag, now Barangay Pader and remained so until 1667. It had only five barrios, namel: Sibucao and Sumandig in the lowlands; Misi, Camatugan and Malonor in the upland area. In 1668, Laglag was joined to Passi, only to be separated a year later in 1669. From 1669 – 1844, Laglag was still the name it was known, reason as to why most family names of Duenas begin with letter “L.”

In 1845, Laglag was moved four kilometres eastward and finally given the name “Duenas” in memory of the birthplace of Fr. Florencio Martin, the author of the transfer, in Duenas, Palencia, Spain. The death of a Spanish priest at the hands of a native shaman occurred during the town’s period of Spanish Christianization. In 1663, the Parish Priest, Fr. Francisco was killed by a Babaylan (shaman) named Tapar who refused to accept the new religion and went about trying to reconvert the natives back to their original religion based on superstition and folk magic.

The word Duenas or Duena was derived from a Latin word domina, which means landlady or madam who has dominion over a certain house or estate.

ATTRACTIONS

ST. JEROME PARISH CHURCH is of Baroque – Romanesque architectural style. The first church was made of wood but was destroyed by an earthquake in 1787. The present church was constructed under the supervision of Father Nicolas Gallo in 1878. Materials used were stone and bricks. Its interior of Tuscan design with an exterior of Doric design measured 65 meters in length and 16 meters wide. The church was damaged during World War II and in the 1948 earthquake. The dome and transept were reconstructed in 1982.

CALANG ECO-HISTORICAL TREKKING ADVENTURE in Barangay Calang could be reached by a 15-minute trek. Several points of interests are found in the area where sets of historical spring wells can be seen. Most popular is the Pitong Bubon or the seven (7) century-old natural spring wells in the heart of a forested area. It is said that it existed since the pre-colonial period and were said to have served as drinking and washing areas. Another group of eight (8) Tuscany Wells are located in a cliff of the same barangay, just 20 meters away from Pitong Bubon and approximately 30 meters away from Ered Falls in the east. Ered Falls got its name from the word “air raid” since the area was used to be an air raid shelter during the Japanese Occupation. The Ginoong Tawo form a series of spring wells on an adobe bed flowing towards a huge spring forming mini falls and is found at the base of a century-old Balete tree. Another cluster spring wells are found in the area that has become a popular bathing site.

MILLER HOUSE RUINS believed to have been the ancestral house of an American family during World War II in Hacienda Jaguimit is abandoned and in ruins. It has a crumbling beauty on its own and they inspire dreams of what they might be turned into if these former mansions, once owned by rich businessmen during the early 19th centuries in rural Iloilo. The house had been stripped of nearly every architectural element–from doors to floor tiles to fixtures. Yet, it retains elegance in the middle of a sugarcane field. A few meters across the house is the famous remain of a Muscovado Sugar Mill.

FESTIVAL

ANIHAN is celebrated every week of September. It started in 2003 highlights its tribal dance competition by showcasing its practices, customs and traditions before or during the harvest season. The dance is this town’s expression of thanksgiving for bountiful production of agricultural crops. Dueñas is an agricultural area that mainly depends on farming as its major source of livelihood.

No Comments on Duenas

Dingle

Dingle is extraordinarily scenic, also an awe-inspiring site and the best place to go nature tripping. It has successfully marketed itself as an Eco-cultural destination of the province and continues…

Continue Reading

Dingle is extraordinarily scenic, also an awe-inspiring site and the best place to go nature tripping. It has successfully marketed itself as an Eco-cultural destination of the province and continues to attract eco-tourists. It is also known for a number of natural, historical and cultural attractions.

From the magical, underground caverns to the beautiful and historical structures, we invite you off the beaten track to experience this municipality like you have never done before.

The Third-Class municipality of Dingle is 37 kilometers away from Iloilo City. It is bounded in the northeast by Anilao; northwest by San Enrique; southeast by Pototan and Barotac Nuevo; and southwest by Duenas. It has a total land area that measures 7,750 hectare that is politically subdivided into 33 barangays.

Dingle is populated by 45, 335 (2015 Census on Population) Dingleanons. Market day is every Saturday. It annually celebrates its Religious Fiesta every 24th of June in honour of St, John the Baptist.

To get to the town, a jeepney or van is available at the Northern Central Iloilo Transport Terminal, Inc. in Barangay Tagbak, Jaro, Iloilo City.

HISTORY

Dingle started as a pre-colonial settlement of Sumandig (Duenas), which was under the jurisdiction of Simsiman, a barangay of Laglag. The settlement was also known as Sibucao, Ba-ong and Orvat. The Augustinian priest, Fr. Francisco Manuel Blanco, first founded Dingle as a visita of Pototan in 1593.

Dingle became independent on April 23, 1611. In 1629 however, it was annexed to Dumangas and to Dueñas in 1641 until 1825. In August 16, 1850, by order of Governor General of the Philippines Antonio de Urbiztondo, Dingle again became independent and was officially named the town of Dingle. The first town head was Julio Dator (1823–1827). In 1865, Fr. Fernando Llorente ordered the construction of the Dingle Catholic Church which was completed in 1886.

ATTRACTIONS

BULABOG PUTI-AN NATIONAL PARK in Barangay Moroboro in Dingle extending San Enrique, can be enjoyed as a day visit to the area since one does not have to go on extensive trail blazing. Combining trekking and cave exploration, the trip offers a rare opportunity to get close to one of Iloilo’s rarest limestone rock formation in Panay excluding Guimaras. This old growth forest is also a perfect laboratory for the study of flora and fauna. It was designated as a National Park through Congressional Bill No. 1651, and such is considered a “Nationally Significant Area.”

The centerpiece of the park is its 33 known and named caves where most are undeveloped, so there are no lights, stairs, nor walkways. The Maeztranza Cave, the most popular is historically important as it served as a hide-out of the revolutionary forces during the Spanish colonial period and on its stone walls are Spanish inscriptions of the revolutionary troops. Hike up and go cave exploration while enjoying the gorgeous view of the park over its wild and luscious forests. It has a land area of 834.033 hectares covering five of Dingle’s 33 barangays.

ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH CHURCH is of Filipino-Baroque architectural style. The first church was constructed in Baong but no records as to who supervised the construction of the church and its convent. The present church was constructed under the supervision of Father Juan Fraile in 1829. It was continued under the supervision of Father Fernando Llorente between 1865 and 1874; by Father Melquiades Arizmendi in 1876 – 1877. Father Rafael Murillo supervised its completion in 1887 – 1893. The roof was however destroyed by a typhoon in November 5, 1912. Father Fernando Llorente restored its convent that was however destroyed in 1960. The materials used were granite stones quarried from the mountains of Bulabog Puti-an in Dingle and San Enrique in 1829. The church has one unfinished bell-tower that makes it unique from the other neighboring churches. It is elevated by a 9-step stairway with rose windows in its façade. It was used as a Japanese garrison during World War II.

RIVER CRUISE AT MOROBORO DAM is a 7-kilometer cruise that starts in Barangay Licu-an (approximately 3 kilometers away from the town center). Its base is at the upper portion of the Jalaur Irrigation Dam, popularly known as Moroboro Dam, built in 1955 and had since then provided irrigation to this town’s agricultural lands and nearby towns. Perfectly blending with the river’s serene atmosphere is a ruined post-World War II suspension bridge that traverses the Jalaur River. The cruise is more intimate that takes place on smaller-scale motorized boat and winds its way through passing the barangays of Moroboro, Lincud and Tinocuan where beautiful white limestone cliffs and other limestone rock formations are seen. Views of small barangays along the river banks are one of the best ways to explore this town’s simple, yet absorbing lifestyle. This nearly to an hour leisurely cruise ends in Barangay Tinocuan. Visitors can also enjoy eco-bird watching river cruise.

MOUNT MANYAKIYA provides a natural viewing deck that allows visitors to have a panoramic view of Negros Island as well as the low lying towns of the province of Iloilo. Nautod Wall, one of the major rock-climbing destinations in the Philippines, can be found here.

FESTIVALS

PAGDIHON celebrated every last week of October is a traditional community festivity filled with music, dance and competitive events that will highlight its culture, heritage and tradition. The street dance and tribe competition of the festival remains at the heart of the festival’s identity. Performers, in a moving story-telling unfold history with Gen. Adriano Hernandez, their local hero as the central figure of the presentation. Gen. Hernandez secretly organized a rebel movement in Iloilo against the Spaniards and staged the first armed uprising in the Province of Iloilo in October 28, 1898. This occurred in Barrio Lincud, Dingle. The event was known as the “Cry of Lincud.” Because of his excellent display of gallantry and knowledge in military strategy, General Hernandez became the trusted aide of General Martin Delgado designating him as the Chief-of-Staff of the rebel government in the Visayas that was inaugurated in November 1898. When Iloilo fell into the hands of the Americans he became the leader of the guerilla movement in the whole province.

12 NIGHTS OF CHRISTMAS is celebfated every December 16 – 30. it features the magnificent brightly-lit Christmas Floats parading around the poblacion area where all the lights on the float after dusk are turned on in order to give viewers an unexpected treat. Other activities include the drum, bugle and lyre competition and the inter-provincial fireworks display. Event runs every December 16-30.

No Comments on Dingle

Barotac Nuevo

The Second-Class municipality of Barotac Nuevo is at the north-eastern portion of the province. It is 30 kilometers away or an hour drive from Iloilo City. It is bordered by…

Continue Reading

The Second-Class municipality of Barotac Nuevo is at the north-eastern portion of the province. It is 30 kilometers away or an hour drive from Iloilo City. It is bordered by Pototan in the west; Dingle in the northwest; Anilao in the northeast, and; Dumangas in the south. It has a total land area of 9, 449 hectares that is politically subdivided into 29 barangays.

Barotac Nuevo is populated by 54, 146 (2015 Census on Population) Barotacnons. Market day is every Wednesdays and Saturdays. It annually celebrates its Religious Fiesta every 13th of June in honour of St. Anthony de Padua.

One can visit Barotac Nuevo via jeepney, van or bus at the new Ceres Terminal in Barangay Camalig, Jaro, Iloilo City or at the Iloilo Terminal Market in Barangay Rizal Pala-Pala I, Iloilo City.

HISTORY

Barotac is from the Spanish word baro, which means mud, as well as the last syllables of tac and lutac. With Nuevo, translated as new, added to the name.

Local folklore states Barotac Barotac Nuevo was famous for its well-bred horses, one of which was a pure white stallion named Tamasak owned by a prominent citizen named Don Simon. The Governor-General kf the country at that time, Manuel Gonzalers de Aguilar, wanted to buy Tamasak from Don Simon whio eventually exchanged the animal not for money but for a title, and the separation of Barotac Nuevo from the town of Dumangas, of which it was but a smaller part thereof.

The barrio once known as Malutac is now where the town of Barotac Nuevo stands. Barotac Nuevo’s main industry and capital is in agriculture and fishponds for breeding tilapia and milkfish. The town church was built during the 16th century by Spanish missionaries, The town’s name has the Spanish word Nuevo added to it meaning new, to distinguish it from another town called Barotac Viejo (Old Barotac) in the north.

ATTRACTIONS

ST. ANTHONY DE PADUA PARISH CHURCH is of Neo-Classical architectural design. It was said that the original church of Romanesque architectural style and was built sometime in 1710 and finished in 1750. However in 1758, an earthquake destroyed the church. A second church of coral stone and bricks was reconstruction under the supervision of Friar Ramon Piaguda y Araujo. A convent was also constructed and both structures were completed sometime in 1802. It was blessed in December 24, 1893.

The present church was constructed under the supervision of Father Julian Yturiaga in 1876 but was later on continued by Father Eustaquio Torres until 1882. It was finished in 1888 under the supervision of Father Calixto Gonzales. It is made of stone blocks. The church has two unfinished twin rectangular bell-tower. However, it was burned In December 5, 1912. During World War II the church was used as a garrison by the Japanese Imperial Forces.

FESTIVALS

TAMASAK is celebrated every 3rd week of February. The name was derived from the legendary horse hero named Tamasak of the Barotacnons. A brainchild of former SB Member on Tourism, Mr. Nonel Gemora, it is a showcase of the abilities and diversity of their sports-loving community. Celebrated at the FIFA Football Grounds in Barangay Tabucan, the festivity is a diverse, action packed 2-day filled with sports, music, food and fun.

It features competitions for individuals and teams including Kabayo Race, Borado, Mayor Hernan Biron Sr. Football Cup. Variety shows and live band in the evening are added special activities. Tamasak Festival also opens up the opportunity for local people to get involved and have a go at sports they otherwise may not have the opportunity to try.

PAGHILI-USA celebrated every 3rd week of December is a significant Christmas celebration for Barotacnons as schools from all levels, PTA, the private sector and its 29 barangays showcase their talents in the different fields of competition.

No Comments on Barotac Nuevo

Dumangas

Dumangas has developed over the years from a small settlement into a beautiful, thriving town. The town is known for its deep historic roots which reveal themselves throughout the town….

Continue Reading

Dumangas has developed over the years from a small settlement into a beautiful, thriving town. The town is known for its deep historic roots which reveal themselves throughout the town. The surrounding landscape is as picturesque as the town itself, with typical coastal and agricultural scenes of fishing villages, mangrove areas, rice paddies, and seafood restaurants that runs past the town center border from the coastal road. It offers opportunities for history and adventure.

The First-Class municipality of Dumangas is situated southeastern of the province and is 30 kilometers or an hour ride from Iloilo City. It is bounded in the north by the municipality of Barotac Nuevo; in the south and east by Guimaras Strait, and; in the west by the municipalities of Pototan and Zarraga. It has a total land area of 11, 677 hectares and is politically subdivided into 45 barangays.

Dumangas is populated by 69, 108 Dumangasanons. Market day is every Sunday. It annually celebrates its Religious Fiesta every 5th of May in honour of St. Agustine.

One can travel to Dumangas via the Monfort Coast Boulevard. Vans are readily available at Baldoza Transport Terminal in Barangay Baldoza, Lapaz, Iloilo City.

HISTORY

The early beginings of the settlement was during the Malayan migration to the Philippineswhere several immigrant clans settled along the coasts of Panay. One fleet of balangays (ancient long ships) made its entrance along the southeastern coast of Panay along the Talaguis River where the immigrants established the settlement called Araut. It was known as such until the arrival of the Spanish in the 16th century. It is reputed that no less than Adelantado Miguel Lopez de Legazpi’s aide-de-camp Mateo del Sanz, in their exploration for food came across the settlement of Araut. Del Sanz’ party found the inhabitants to be of noble bearing; in fact they thought the natives were “the noblest people in the old archipelago.” Mateo del Sanz returned to Cebu loaded with plenty of provisions for Adelantado.

A year later, in 1566, Legazpi sent Capitan Luis de Hoaya to confoirm his friendliness and hospitality to the natives. de Hoaya was later appointed administrator of Araut. In 1569, Fr. Juan de Alva who accompanied Capitan Luis de Hoaya when they first came to Araut was appointed the first parish priest of Dumangas. Fr. De Alva belonged to the Agustinian Order, which served Dumangas for a very long time.

Araut was renamed Dumangas, the probable version was based upon the report of Legazpi’s Portugese officer who mentioned “Sitio Du Mangas” (settlement of the two mangoes) as a place where they got their supplies. The Adelantado chronicler noted the report and the name were duly recorded. It was later shortened to Dumangas.

ATTRACTIONS

ST. AGUSTINE PARISH CHURCH of Gothic Byzantine architectural style and was considered the most artistic church in the country after its completion in 1895, it was built using red bricks and coral stones. Construction started in 1887 under the supervision of Fr. Fernando Llorente. Fr. Rafael Murillo supervised its completion. The church measured 72 meters long and 22 meters wide. It was declared by the National Historical Institute as a National Shrine in January 14, 1974. The first church along with its convent said to have been built in 1572 under the supervision of Fr. Martin de Rada OSA was burned in 1628; the second structure finished before 1787 was destroyed by an earthquake.

RUINS OF THE FIRST STONE CHAPEL IN PANAY in Barangay Ermita, Dumangas was built in 1556 under the supervision of Fr. Juan Alva in 1572. Now in ruins, it is housed on an elevated land where the base made of coral rocks and old wood is exposed. Originally the chapel was made of nipa. It was declared a National Shrine by the National Historical Institute in August 28, 1989.

IGLESIA FILIPINA INDEPENDIENTE was constructed in 1918 the time when Tomas Buenaflor was Mayor of Dumangas.

RUINS OF A SMOKESTACK CHIMNEY in Barangay Rosario approximately 6 kilometers away from the town center had been left in much the same condition in which it was found. A huge Balete tree blends into its red brick walls with its old thick roots giving the structure a surreal appearance. The atmospheric combination of trees growing out of the ruins and the surrounding sugarcane farm makes it one of Dumangas’ most popular tourist attractions.

FESTIVAL

HAW-AS celebrated every last week of October is an annual thanksgiving festival for the bountiful fish harvest from the waters in the area. The festival uses the iconic bangus as its symbol because it is their number one product. Haw-as also celebrates the contribution made to Dumangas by those persons involved in the local fishing industry. The highlight of the celebration is the “Haw-as Guban: competition dance extravaganza where participating tribes depict and interpret the “haw-as” or fish harvesting through a vivid visual display, graceful gyrations and well-choreographed dances in colorful costumes.

Haw-as Festival has become a part of the local tourist calendar and a vital contributor to the economy of Dumangas. It is a unique attraction that offers fun and entertainment for both locals and visitors alike offering them the opportunity to learn more about the town’s culture and to better appreciate and understand its value to the community.

No Comments on Dumangas

Mina

The Fifth-Class municipality of Mina located in the northern part of the province. It is 44 kilometers away for an hour and twenty minute ride from Iloilo City. It is…

Continue Reading

The Fifth-Class municipality of Mina located in the northern part of the province. It is 44 kilometers away for an hour and twenty minute ride from Iloilo City. It is bounded in the north by the municipality of Badiangan; in the east by the municipality of Pototan; west by the municipality of Janiuay; in the south by the municipality of New Lucena; and southwest by the municipality of Cabatuan. The town has a total land area of 4,340 hectares that is politically subdivided into 22 barangays.

Mina is populated by 23, 546 (2015 Census on Population) Minanhons. Market day is every Thursdays and Sundays. It annually celebrates its Religious Fiesta every 12th of October in honour of Our Lady of the Pillar.

One can get to Mina by jeepney or van at the terminal in front of Christ the King Memorial in Jaro, Iloilo City.

HISTORY

Before 1870, the town was known as Barrio Montogawe. The name was derived from Montogawe Hill located at the Suage River. Montogawe was a combination of two words from the Spanish monte meaning mountain and gawe, a Kiniray-a word meaning face.

A Civil Decree issued by General La Torre in 1870 lawfully created the civil town of Montogawe, after a requirement that a church, a municipal building and a school house be built. Montogawe was elevated to a parish in 1872, but no parish priest was assigned. In 1873 a dispute over the jurisdiction over Tolarucan (presently, a barangay in this municipality) was lodged by both municipalities of Pototan and Janiuay and was brought to the attention of the Bishop of Jaro. It was impressed upon the Bishop, the importance of the case to the church. The Bishop appointed ten priests to handle the case and these sought the services of a Spanish lawyer named Mina. Atty. Mina won the case and Montogawe gained jurisdiction over Tolarucan. Folk sources say that Atty. Mina refused to accept monetary renumeration. Thus, because of his gallant act, the town was named in his honor. Montogawe became Mina.

FESTIVAL

PASKWA HALAD SA BANWA is celebrated withy the opening of Christmas lights at the municipal grounds every 2nd week of December. The spirit to serve the community is a core value of the local government of this town which gives all the opportunity to give back to the community through this event which started in 2011. However, in 1994-2010 the town had been celebrating Christmas with series of activities that include street dancing, ceremonial lighting, fireworks display and food fair.

No Comments on Mina

Type on the field below and hit Enter/Return to search