New Lucena

The Fourth-Class municipality of New Lucena is situated in the central portion of the province and shares border in the northeast with the municipality of Pototan; in the southeast with the municipality of Zarraga; in the southwest with the municipality of Sta. Barbara; and in the northwest with the municipality of Cabatuan and a little portion of the town of Mina.

The town proper of New Lucena could be traversed by land either way via Dawis-Zarraga or via Sta. Barbara. It is 9.8 kilometers away from Sta. Barbara, 15 kilometers away from Cabatuan, 6 kilometers away from Pototan, 6.6 kilometers away from Zarraga and 11 kilometers away from Mina. New Lucena is crisscrossed by the roads from the north to south and east to west thus providing roads for easy means of transportation. It has a land area of 4412 hectares that is politically subdivided into 21 barangays.

New Lucena is populated by 23, 240 (2015 Census on Population) New Lucenanhons. Market day is every Sunday. It annually celebrates its Religious Fiesta every 24th of January in honor of Nuestra Sra. De Buen Viaje.

It is a 45-minuter jeepney ride from Ungka Transport Terminal (fronting Christ the King Memorial Park) in Barangay Ungka-II, Pavia, Iloilo.


New Lucena was formerly known as Jimanban, a very small barrio organized sometime in 1800, which was a part of the Municipality of Cabatuan. In 1886 the boundary line separating the jurisdiction of Sta. Barbara and Cabatuan was defined and Jimanban was made part of Sta. Barbara.

Prominent residents of the barrio of Jimanban petitioned to the Governor-General that they be granted independence by putiing up a church, convent and a casa real (municipal building).

Lucena was separated from Sta. Barbara on Oxtober 9, 1877 in accordance with the Direksyon Heneral de Administrasyon Civil. It is not recorded when the name Jimanban was changed to Lucena, reportedly comes from the belief that it was after the name of the Provincial Alcalde Mayor, Pedro Gonzales Lucena, the 36th executive of the Province of Iloilo in 1716-1717.

When the Americans came, Pueblo de Lucena was again incorporated to the town of Sta. Barbara in 1902 for economic security and ease of government. In 1921, the prominent citizens of Lucena once again petitioned for its separation from Sta. Barbara. Thus, in January 1, 1947, Lucena became a new town in the province, now called New Lucena.


JIMANBAN is celebrated every 3rd week of January andl features product and information displays from its 21 barangays. The week-long celebration is highlighted daily special events. The festivity is one way of celebrating the gains and significant strides made in the agriculture sector and reinvigorating the sector through program advocacies. It is also their way of thanking the Patron Saint, Nuestra Senora de la Paz Y Buenviaje for all the blessings she provided the town.

CRY OF JELICUON is celebrated every 25th of October is a re-enactment of the Cry of Revolution in Iloilo in 1898. It is a momentous year of heroism among the patriots of those who overthrew more than 300 years of Spanish Domination. It was in Barrio Hilicuon, situated in the boundaries of the towns of Santa Barbara, Cabatuan and New Lucena that General Martin Delgado, with his volunteers gathered in an open field, with intense emotion, took out their cedulas, tore it and threw up in the air and with, while thundering “Viva La Independencia” (Long Live Independence). New Lucena commemorates the heroic acts of Gen. Martin Delgado and those who died in the battle for independence against the Spanish Forces in Iloilo.

One response to “New Lucena”

  1. This is a pretty good summary of the history of Lucena. Is there any connection with the Lucena city of Quezon Province and the Lucena city of Spain?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *